Grades K - 5

Scroll down for more information

Holliman Elementary School serves approximately 325 young learners, from kindergarten through grade five. Below you will find a brief description of our trimester programs, along with teacher contact information.

During the year questions may arise about curriculum and instruction. Any questions you have should be directed first to your child’s classroom teacher and then to the principal. General information can also be obtained on the Warwick Public School website www.warwickschools.org that provides links to local and state policies.

Kindergarten Teacher | Joan Wilkinson | joan.wilkinson@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten Teacher | Jessica Bonneau |jessica.bonneau@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten Teacher | Gina Dumont |gina.dumont@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten TA  (Mrs. Wilkinson’s class)| Cheryl Netcoh | cheryl.netcoh@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten TA  (Ms. Bonneau’s class)| Mary Burgess | mary.burgess@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten TA  (Ms. Dumont’s class)| Erin Doherty | erin.doherty@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten – 2nd Self Contained Classroom Teacher |  Alexia Mazzotta | alexia.mazzotta@warwickschools.org

On the first day of school, DAY ONE, please write down on a piece of paper:

  • how your child will get home that day and an emergency number, as well
  • whether or not they have a lunch or are buying lunch

Then, please hand it to a teacher or teacher assistant (it doesn’t matter which one).

We will have tables set up to check your child in and give them a name tag, as well as record this information.

Your piece of paper is an added security measure, just in case we miss something.

It is a crazy day that day and even though you think your child knows,  90% of the time, s/he stands bewildered when asked about lunch and dismissal. We may not get office correspondence until just before 3:00 and by that time there are tears.    

SUPPLIES:

  • 1 large backpack (It can never big too big!  Lots go back and forth.)
  • 1 plastic pencil case box that will hold all their supplies.
  • Daily Snack — 1 healthy snack, with a water bottle or cup. please.

Optional—-For  whole classroom use (community)

  • tissues
  • paper towels
  • hand sanitizer
  • cleaning wipes
  • spoons
  • plastic bags all sizes (snack, gallon, quart)

We look forward to working with you and your child.  Open communication benefits all.

  

The young learners that enter the Holliman Elementary kindergarten program are greeted with a safe, caring, and child-oriented environment designed to help them take the first productive steps to develop as both students and individuals. The teachers lead the children forward with a fully defined, high level of commitment towards the goal of providing, in partnership with parents and the community, a structured and secure, nurturing educational environment that helps prepare their students to meet the social, emotional, and cognitive challenges of their academic future.

 

Students are introduced to core classroom subjects in a typical setting, but the program is also oriented to provide individual attention to specific needs of the children, enhanced by extra-curricular activities both during, and after the traditional school day. The interaction with both elder students and teachers opens an avenue to insure success as they prepare for future challenges as they progress into upper grades.

Grade 1 Teacher | Kathleen Marcaccio | kathleen.marcaccio@warwickschools.org

Grade 1 Teacher | Elena Habershaw | elena.habershaw@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten – 2nd Self Contained Classroom Teacher |  Alexia Mazzotta | alexia.mazzotta@warwickschools.org

First grade classes at Holliman Elementary provide a year of academic excitement, along with achievement, as young students are guided through a new channel of intellectual and emotional growth that helps them to develop a sound and lifelong approach to learning. Patterns of successful and independent thinking are instilled through the community efforts of their teachers, parents, staff, volunteers, peers and classmates. They develop confidence and awareness as they are helped to recognize their own individual abilities, and then how they might apply these unique talents towards becoming productive members and contributors to their community.

Grade 2 Teacher | Amy Kennett | amy.kennett@warwickschools.org

Grade 2 Teacher | Lauren Lambert | lauren.lambert@warwickschools.org

Grade 2 Teacher | Beth-Anne Rafanelli | beth-anne.rafanelli@warwickschools.org

Kindergarten – 2nd Self Contained Classroom Teacher |  Alexia Mazzotta | alexia.mazzotta@warwickschools.org

 

The Second Grade program at Holliman Elementary leads our young students into a more rigorous learning environment than they experienced in First Grade so they are able to further deepen and expand their knowledge. Second graders begin to develop their research and critical-thinking projects as they create individual and group work to share. They are taught to present what they learn through different forms, including writing, speaking. The goal is that they become more experienced writers, readers and mathematicians as they practice these skills more, and in more complex and comprehensive ways.

Our teachers provide them with the  tools to read longer and more complicated books, to write longer and more complex pieces, and they learn more about the underlying concepts of the math they do. Technology also becomes an important part of the 2nd grade classroom as students learn about and use it more, further facilitating their newly learned skills. 

Grade 3 Teacher | Susanne Warrener | susanne.warrener@warwickschools.org

Grade 3 Teacher | Jamie Fratus | jamie.fratus@warwickschools.org

3rd – 5th Self Contained Classroom Teacher | James Lasalle | james.lasalle@warwickschools.org

 

Third grade at Holliman Elementary is defined by the ongoing plan to foster an evolution of independence, motivation, and self awareness, so that our young students both mature and expand their learning capabilities. They are taught to explore the world around them by delving deeper into the academics and disciplines of reading, writing, math, and science.

Our teachers, parents and caregivers, also take it upon themselves to challenge traditional approaches, to encourage a modern and comprehensive academic program that takes advantage of the newest technology. The students are introduced to using laptop computers and learning through innovative interactive smart board presentations. The love of the knowledge is what we want to imprint on these young developing minds.

Grade 4 Teacher | Shirlie Yazidjian | shirlie.yazidjian@warwickschools.org

Grade 4 Teacher | Melissa Hatch | melissa.hatch@warwickschools.org

 Grade 4 Teacher | Nobina Foley | nobina.foley@warwickschools.org

3rd – 5th Self Contained Classroom Teacher | James Lasalle | james.lasalle@warwickschools.org

Fourth Grade Suggested Supplies

You may want to begin purchasing some school supplies over the summer when the sales are going strong!  This is a list of suggested supplies for incoming fourth grade students.

  • 1” binder 
  • small personal pencil sharpener
  • pencil box
  • 6 solid-color two-pocket folders without fasteners: one each of the following colors: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple.
  • 2 Composition Notebooks
  • 3 extra-large, stretchy book covers 
  • package of 3 x 5 index cards
  • container of disinfecting wipes
  • Kleenex box (for the classroom)
  • Earbuds for use with the Chromebook

Items that are not on this list, such as markers, notebook paper, and wet glue, are not needed in class.  

Other items, such as pencils, crayons, colored pencils, scissors, and glue sticks, will be provided by the school. However, you may want to purchase some for your child.

If you have any concerns about specific supplies, please contact your child’s teacher.

*Please keep in mind that some of these supplies will need to be replaced each trimester or more often.

 

The goal of the fourth grade team of teachers at Hoxie Elementary is to provide a rich environment of learning opportunities for the students. The program places a strong emphasis on teaching critical-thinking and problem-solving skills that students will need to be successful throughout their academic career.

Students will be given the opportunity to learn through a variety of hands-on activities and projects in all subject areas, and will utilize new educational technology including laptops, internet access, and interactive smart board instruction. This approach is designed to enhance the learning process of a general studies track, with specific emphasis in the fields of Math, English/Language Arts, Science, and Social Studies. Our commitment is to help each student become more confident in their abilities as thinkers and learners, and fully prepare them for the next level, both academically and socially.

Grade 5 Teacher | Sonya Yazidjian | sonya.yazidjian@warwickschools.org

Grade 5 Teacher | Kimberly Williams| kimberly.williams@warwickschools.org

3rd – 5th Self Contained Classroom Teacher | James Lasalle | james.lasalle@warwickschools.org

 

Our goal for Fifth graders at Holliman Elementary is to help the students practice, refine and grow their skills, and take what they have learned to the next step. Fifth graders build on what they learned in 4th grade by thinking and analyzing in deeper ways.

Our program is designed to encourage the students to be more independent in the learning process, and less dependent on the guidance and support from teachers or other adults. Students certainly have available to them the assistance of a teacher when called for, but at the same time are educated to understand that at this juncture in their academic careers they have been equipped with the essential tools to help themselves, and are ready for larger roles at school, home, and in the community.

Health  | Lorri Goralski| lorri.goralski@warwickschools.org  & Tyler Marrero | tyler.marrero@warwickschools.org

Library and Media | Michelle Roth| michelle.roth@warwickschools.org

Genral Music & Chorus | Cynthia Cornell| cynthia.cornell@warwickschools.org

Instrumental (Optional for grades 4 and 5)  | Jessica Mathias| jessica.mathias@warwickschools.org

Physical Eduaction  | Lorri Goralski| lorri.goralski@warwickschools.org  & Tyler Marrero | tyler.marrero@warwickschools.org   

Visual Arts | Melissa Cardillo| melissa.cardillo@warwickschools.org 

Math Intervention | Nicolle Greene | nicolle.greene@warwickschools.org

Reading Intervention | Alison Kanaczet | alison.kanaczet@warwickschools.org

Speech Intervention | Amy Barker | amy.barker@warwickschools.org

English Language Learning | Tracey Sutherland | tracey.sutherland@warwickschools.org